The proceedings have been published in the Journal of Inherited Metabolic Disease     Volume 32 No 3 June 2009



First Annual Symposium on Pediatric Neurotransmitter
Diseases May 18 to 19, 2002 Annals of Neurology Vol 54 Supplement 6 2003 For a free copy of the Journal
[email protected]


The 2010-2011 Research Grant Program
Awards up to $164,000 to Research
On Behalf of Pediatric Neurotransmitter Diseases

I. Recipient: K. Michael Gibson Ph.D., FACMG, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Biological Sciences at Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI and Phillip L. Pearl, MD Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology, Department of Neurology, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, DC
Award up to: $100,000 "Efficancy of Ornithine Alpha Ketoglutarate Intervention in Succinic Semialdehyde Dehydrogenase (SSADH) Deficiency”. A grant of $50,000 was approved for the first phase of the project. I the initial phase is successful, $50,000 will be awarded for the second phase.

II. Recipient: Gregg D. Stanwood, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development Associate, Director, Vanderbilt Mouse Neurobehavioral Core, Nashville, TN
Award: $25,000Dopaminergic Effects on the Formation of Brain Architecture”.

III. Recipient: Keith Hyland Ph.D. ,Director, Department of Neurochemistry, Medical Neurogenetics, LLC, Director, Department of Neurochemistry, Atlanta, GA
Award: $23,900 "To establish keratinocytes and/or melanocytes as a cell source for the enzyme assay of tyrosine hydroxylase".

IV. Recipient: Michael Rotstein, MD Columbia University Medical Center, The Neurological Institute, New York
Award: $15,000 Third Year Fellowship: under the direction of Darryl De Vivo MD.

The 2007-2008 PND Research Grant Program
Awarded $245,000 to Research
On Behalf of Pediatric Neurotransmitter Diseases

I. Recipient: Michael Rotstein, MD Pediatric Neurology Unit, Dana Hospital for Children Tel Aviv, Israel  
Award$100,000 Two Year Postdoctoral Fellowship Movement Disorders emphasis on Pediatric Neurotransmitter Diseases. Second Year Research Study: "Motor Phenotype of the HPH -1 Mouse as a Model for GTPCH- Deficiency".  Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York under direction of Stanley Fahn MD and Darryl De Vivo MD

II. Recipient:  K. Michael Gibson PHD, FACMG, Director Biochemical Genetics Laboratory, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh 
Award: $50,000 "Hepatocyte Repopulation in Gamma Hydroxybutyric Aciduria".

III. Recipient: Phillip L. Pearl MD, Children's National Medical Center 
Award: $40,000 "Clinical Studies in SSADH Deficiency"

IV. Recipient: Keith Hyland PhD, Director Department of Neurochemistry, Horizon
Molecular Medicine 
Award: $30,000 "Enzyme and Molecular Testing for PND's"

V. Recipients: Ellen J. Hess PhD Associate Professor of Neurology/Neuroscience and H.A. Jinnah MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology John Hopkins University,  Movement Disorder Division 
Award: $25,000 "Mouse Model Tyrosine Hydroxylase: Clinical Variability in  TH Deficiency as a Direct Consequence of the influence of the Genetic Mutation on  the Functions of the TH Enzyme".  

Thank you to the PND Grant Review Committee and Chair Darryl De Vivo MD for their enormous effort in making this possible.