PND Research Grant Program Recipients

The 2010-2011
Research Grant Program

Awards up to $164,000 to Research On Behalf of Pediatric Neurotransmitter

I. Recipient: K. Michael Gibson Ph.D., FACMG, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Biological Sciences at Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI and Phillip L. Pearl, MD Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology, Department of Neurology, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, DC

Award up to: $100,000 "Efficancy of Ornithine Alpha Ketoglutarate Intervention in Succinic Semialdehyde Dehydrogenase (SSADH) Deficiency”. A grant of $50,000 was approved for the first phase of the project. If the initial phase is successful, $50,000 will be awarded for the second phase.

II. Recipient: Gregg D. Stanwood, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development Associate, Director, Vanderbilt Mouse Neurobehavioral Core, Nashville, TN

Award: $25,000Dopaminergic Effects on the Formation of Brain Architecture”.

III. Recipient: Keith Hyland Ph.D. ,Director, Department of Neurochemistry, Medical Neurogenetics, LLC, Director, Department of Neurochemistry, Atlanta, GA

Award: $23,900 "To establish keratinocytes and/or melanocytes as a cell source for the enzyme assay of tyrosine hydroxylase".

IV. Recipient: Michael Rotstein, MD Columbia University Medical Center, The Neurological Institute, New York

Award: $15,000 Third Year Fellowship: under the direction of Darryl De Vivo MD.

Thank you to the PND Grant Review Committee and Chair Darryl De Vivo MD for their enormous effort in making this possible.

The 2007-2008 PND Research Grant Program

Awarded $245,000 to Research On Behalf of Pediatric Neurotransmitter Diseases

I. Recipient: Michael Rotstein, MD Pediatric Neurology Unit, Dana Hospital for Children Tel Aviv, Israel  

Award$100,000 Two Year Postdoctoral Fellowship Movement Disorders emphasis on Pediatric Neurotransmitter Diseases. Second Year Research Study: "Motor Phenotype of the HPH -1 Mouse as a Model for GTPCH- Deficiency".  Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York under direction of Stanley Fahn MD and Darryl De Vivo MD

II. Recipient:  K. Michael Gibson PHD, FACMG, Director Biochemical Genetics Laboratory, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh 

Award: $50,000 "Hepatocyte Repopulation in Gamma Hydroxybutyric Aciduria".

III. Recipient: Phillip L. Pearl MD, Children's National Medical Center 

Award: $40,000 "Clinical Studies in SSADH Deficiency"

IV. Recipient: Keith Hyland PhD, Director Department of Neurochemistry, Horizon
Molecular Medicine 

Award: $30,000 "Enzyme and Molecular Testing for PND's"

V. Recipients: Ellen J. Hess PhD Associate Professor of Neurology/Neuroscience and H.A. Jinnah MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology John Hopkins University,  Movement Disorder Division 

Award: $25,000 "Mouse Model Tyrosine Hydroxylase: Clinical Variability in  TH Deficiency as a Direct Consequence of the influence of the Genetic Mutation on  the Functions of the TH Enzyme".